- Wayne Williams
Phone Down! It's the Law! - Traffic Infraction if Caught Holding a Cell Phone While Driving in VA
Be prepared to put your phone away while driving!
Earlier this year, Governor Northam signed a law making it unlawful for any person driving to hold a cell phone. However, the law will be enforced effective January 1, 2021. There are exceptions to drivers who are parked or stopped, reporting an emergency, driving an emergency vehicle and using a phone for work duties, or drivers using a CB radio. A first offense shall have a fine of $125.00. For subsequent offenses or if the offender was driving in a work zone, the fine will be $250.00.
Sen. Scott Surovell of Fairfax sponsored the bill and said anyone driving on Virginia highways “knows this problem is an epidemic.”
“This bill will save lives,” said Del. Jeff Bourne of Richmond, who sponsored the House version.
It is still possible for a law enforcement officer to charge a driver with reckless driving if they feel that the driver was endangering the life, limb, or property of another by their distracted driving. Under Virginia Code § 46.2-868, if someone is convicted of reckless driving while holding a cell phone, there will be a mandatory fine of $250.00 for the reckless driving conviction.
Drivers will still be able to use their devices via Bluetooth paired with their vehicles utilizing voice commands.
Cell phone use while driving is unsafe and distracting. Please be responsible and drive safely!
Injured by a Person Driving While Using Their Phone?
Contact Mapp, Mapp, & Klein today! Unlike larger firms, we provide personalized attention to each of our clients, no matter how large or small the case may be. Our attorneys are involved in all facets of your case and equally accessible to you.
Call us today for the personal attention you deserve! 757-787-8900